In Five Years - Rebecca Serle

In Five Years

By Rebecca Serle

  • Release Date: 2020-03-10
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Score: 4
4
From 1,991 Ratings

Description

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A Good Morning America, FabFitFun, and Marie Claire Book Club Pick

In Five Years is as clever as it is moving, the rare read-in-one-sitting novel you won’t forget.” —Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day—a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Dannie Kohan lives her life by the numbers.

She is nothing like her lifelong best friend—the wild, whimsical, believes-in-fate Bella. Her meticulous planning seems to have paid off after she nails the most important job interview of her career and accepts her boyfriend’s marriage proposal in one fell swoop, falling asleep completely content.

But when she awakens, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. Dannie spends one hour exactly five years in the future before she wakes again in her own home on the brink of midnight—but it is one hour she cannot shake. In Five Years is an unforgettable love story, but it is not the one you’re expecting.

Reviews

  • A beautiful story of friendship

    5
    By
    I’m not going to say this is a literary masterpiece, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. A beautiful story about life, love and loss - and truly, a story about real friendship.
  • Really enjoyed reading.

    4
    By
    The book was really good and pulled on your heartstrings towards the end. The beginning was a little slow, but good nonetheless. The end seemed the tiniest bit rushed; would have liked a little more detail and insight. Although I still thoroughly enjoyed the book I would still recommend.
  • Depressing!

    1
    By
    Starts out a little slow, gets good & then bam last 1/3 is sooooo depressing. Not what I was expecting at all.
  • Great Characters

    5
    By
    What a wonderful story. I sat and read this in one sitting. The characters instantly came alive to me and I was compelled to know how the story would turn out. What a great escape story that weaves in a lesson we all need to learn.
  • Fluff read with a hard turn into sad town.

    2
    By
    The writing is solid enough, although it is the kind of book that relies heavily on name dropping brands and restaurants instead of properly describe. It does a lot of tell, much less show. All the characters (and I do mean all of them) are, of course, fabulously successful in their chosen fields. It takes a long time to get going and then when it does it is a long slide into sad. The main character is likable enough that I got stuck in it. I don’t really recommend it though.
  • So in love

    5
    By
    I just finished what is now one of my favorite books.. so beautifully well written. Rebecca Serle, thank you for this book! I cannot wait to read more from her.
  • Enjoyable

    3
    By
    I enjoyed this book and finished it quickly. I would not give it 4 or 5 stars because it wasn’t very memorable.
  • Unexpected, raw and lovely

    4
    By
    I read this book in one day in the midst of homeschooling and working. I couldn’t put it down, very well written. I loved how it explored the true meaning of love and friendship.
  • Beautifully tragic!!

    5
    By
    Above all easy read, couldn’t put the book down! I did shed a few tears but love love the entire story!!
  • Beautiful

    5
    By
    This is not a romance story. Instead it explores love and all its varying degrees, between different people. Love that last a lifetime and love that is only for a moment. It explores love in its purest form. It’s not what you expect and it’s a beautiful story.